跳到主要内容

支持乍得
政策重点

CHAD 密切跟踪联邦和州两级的政策和立法更新、变化和问题,并与国会和州官员合作,以确保在整个立法和政策制定过程中都有代表医疗中心及其患者。

FQHC 政策优先事项的核心是保护所有达科他州人,特别是农村、无保险和服务不足的人群获得优质医疗保健。 另一个核心优先事项是确保所有人的健康覆盖,以促进健康的社区并维持达科他州卫生中心的整体运营和发展。

联邦宣传

联邦一级的立法和政策制定对符合联邦资格的医疗中心 (FQHC) 产生重大影响,尤其是在资金和项目开发领域。 这就是为什么乍得的政策团队与达科他州的成员健康中心和医疗保健合作伙伴密切合作,制定政策优先事项并将这些优先事项传达给国会领导人及其工作人员。 CHAD 定期与国会议员及其办公室联系,让他们了解影响 FQHC 及其患者的问题,并鼓励他们对关键的医疗保健立法和政策采取行动。

联邦政策重点

136,000 年,达科他州的社区卫生中心和南达科他州城市印第安人健康中心为超过 2021 名达科他州人提供了初级保健、行为健康服务和牙科保健。他们证明了社区可以改善健康、减少健康不平等、为纳税人节省开支并有效解决许多代价高昂且重大的公共卫生问题,包括流感和冠状病毒的流行、艾滋病毒/艾滋病、物质使用障碍、孕产妇死亡率、退伍军人获得护理的机会以及自然灾害。 

为了继续他们的重要工作和使命,卫生中心需要增加为服务不足的患者提供药房的机会,支持卫生中心的远程医疗服务,对劳动力进行投资,以及强大而稳定的资金。 卫生中心希望继续与国会合作解决以下问题。 

增加服务不足患者的药房访问

提供全面的负担得起的综合服务,包括药房服务,是社区卫生中心模式的关键组成部分。 340B 计划节省的资金必须重新投资于健康中心的活动,并且是健康中心维持持续运营能力不可或缺的一部分。 事实上,许多医疗中心报告说,由于运营利润微薄,如果没有 340B 计划的节省,他们为患者提供许多核心服务和活动的能力将受到严重限制。 

  • 明确说明 340B 承保实体有权购买所有药品制造商承保的门诊药品 通过每个承保实体的合同药房为符合条件的患者提供 340B 定价。 
  • 共同发起保护 340B 法案 (HR 4390), 来自众议员 David McKinley (R-WV) 和 Abigail Spanberger (D-VA),禁止医药福利经理 (PBM) 和保险公司从事歧视性合同做法或“扒窃”医疗中心的 340B 储蓄。 

扩大 CHC 远程医疗机会

达科他州的所有社区卫生中心都在利用远程医疗来满足患者的需求。 远程医疗服务有助于解决大流行、地理、经济、交通和语言方面的医疗保健获取障碍。 由于 CHC 需要在人口稀少的农村地区等高需求地区提供综合服务,因此医疗中心正在率先使用远程医疗来扩大获得优质医疗保健服务的机会。  

  • 支持立法和监管工作,以确保扩大公共卫生紧急事件 (PHE) 远程医疗的灵活性,最好通过永久性政策变更或至少两年时间为医疗中心提供确定性。 

  • 支持 CONNECT for Health Act (HR 2903/S. 1512) 和 Protecting Access to Post-COVID-19 Telehealth Act (HR 366)。 这些法案通过将医疗中心识别为“远程站点”并取消“起源站点”限制,从而使医疗保险政策现代化,允许远程医疗覆盖患者或提供者所在的任何地方。 这些法案还允许远程医疗服务与亲自就诊一样得到报销。 

劳动力

社区卫生中心依靠由超过 255,000 名临床医生、提供者和工作人员组成的网络来兑现负担得起且可获得的医疗保健的承诺。 需要对国家初级保健劳动力进行长期投资,以实现国家所需的成本节约,并确保卫生中心能够跟上社区不断增长和变化的卫生需求。 严重的劳动力短缺和不断扩大的工资差距使卫生中心难以招募和留住综合的、多学科的劳动力以提供高质量的护理。 国家卫生服务队 (NHSC) 和其他联邦劳动力计划对于我们向需要他们的社区招募提供者的能力至关重要。 我们感谢《美国救援计划法》为解决大流行造成的劳动力短缺问题提供的资金。 持续的联邦投资对于扩大卫生中心为患者提供护理所依赖的劳动力管道至关重要。  

  • 技术支持 2 亿美元用于 NHSC,500 亿美元用于护士团贷款还款计划。 
  • 技术支持 为所有初级保健劳动力计划提供强大的 22 财年和 23 财年拨款资金,包括 Title VII 卫生专业和 Title VIII 护理人员发展计划。 

支持社区卫生中心

我们感谢美国救援计划法案拨款给卫生中心以应对 COVID-19,并为初级保健人员和疫苗分发提供额外资金。 COVID-19 大流行凸显了我们农村、少数族裔、退伍军人、老年人和无家可归者社区的医疗保健系统的不公平现象。 现在,卫生中心比以往任何时候都更成为公共卫生系统的重要利益相关者——在国际大流行的阵痛中提供急需的初级和行为健康服务。 2022 年,我们期待国会维持 CHC 的基础资金,并投资于该计划的未来增长。 

  • 支持至少 2 亿美元的健康中心资本资金 用于更换、翻新、改建、扩建、建设和其他资本改善成本,以便医疗中心能够继续满足其不断增长的患者群体和所服务社区的健康需求。

保护志愿卫生专业人员在社区卫生中心服务的能力

志愿卫生专业人员 (VHP) 为社区卫生中心及其患者提供宝贵的劳动力支持。 联邦侵权索赔法 (FTCA) 目前为这些志愿者提供医疗事故保险。 但是,此保护将于 1 年 2022 月 19 日到期。在 COVID-XNUMX 大流行之前和期间,初级保健劳动力严重短缺凸显了无偿医疗专业志愿者继续获得 FTCA 医疗事故保护的紧迫性。  

  • 永久扩展联邦侵权索赔法 (FTCA) 对社区健康中心 VHP 的覆盖范围。 这 扩展目前包含在两党参议院帮助讨论中 准备和应对现有病毒、新出现的新威胁 (PREVENT) 大流行法案草案。  

北达科他州倡导

支持社区卫生中心的工作和使命并保护所有北达科他州人获得医疗保健是乍得倡导工作的核心原则。 我们的团队与北达科他州的成员健康中心和医疗保健合作伙伴密切合作,以监督立法、制定政策重点,并让立法者和其他州和地方官员参与进来。 CHAD 致力于确保 CHC 及其患者在整个决策过程中都有代表。

北达科他州政策重点

北达科他州的立法机关每两年在俾斯麦举行一次会议。 在 2021 年立法会议期间,乍得致力于促进社区卫生中心及其患者的政策重点。 这些优先事项包括支持继续扩大医疗补助计划、提高医疗劳动力能力、扩大牙科福利和初级保健管理改革。

南达科他州倡导

支持卫生中心的工作和使命并保护所有南达科他州人获得医疗保健是乍得倡导工作的核心原则。 我们的团队与南达科他州的成员健康中心和医疗保健合作伙伴密切合作,以监督立法、制定政策重点,并让立法者和其他州和地方官员参与进来。 乍得致力于确保卫生中心及其患者在整个决策过程中都有代表。

南达科他州政策重点

南达科他州的立法机构每年在皮埃尔举行会议。 2023 立法会议 将开始 上月10,2023. 会议期间,乍得  监控 保健-相关的立法,而 支持博士开发的技术萃取的 并促进博士开发的技术萃取的 三 主要政策重点:

南达科他州的医疗补助扩张

劳动力 - 学生贷款偿还

  • 通过指示卫生部申请最多 1 万美元来增加招聘援助计划的资金;
  • 2022 年可用的联邦配套美元,并授权他们使用州资金提供
    本地匹配。 这可以使该计划的范围和影响加倍;
  • 允许 CHC 计划自动获得资格,并增加有资格获得招聘支持的社区规模;
  • 重新考虑所需的社区配套资金水平。 对于许多社区来说,它们目前遥不可及;
  • 增加高级实践提供者的名额; 和,
  • 考虑到该州在这些领域面临的短缺,考虑增加某些行为健康职位。

劳动力 – 最佳团队实践立法为医师助理在我们州的实践提供更大的灵活性。 

en English
X

Support CHAD
Policy Priorities

CHAD tracks closely policy and legislative updates, changes and issues at both the federal and state levels and works with Congressional and state officials to ensure that community health centers and their patients are represented throughout the legislative and policy making process.

At the core of CHC policy priorities is protecting access to quality health care for all Dakotans, especially the rural, uninsured and underserved populations. Another core priority is ensuring health coverage for all to foster healthy communities and sustain the overall operations and growth of health centers across the Dakotas.

Federal Advocacy

Legislation and policymaking at the federal level significantly impact community health centers, especially in the areas of funding and program development. That’s why CHAD’s policy team works closely with its member health centers and health care partners across the Dakotas to develop policy priorities and convey those priorities to Congressional leaders and their staff. CHAD connects on a regular basis with Congressional members and their offices to keep them apprised of issues impacting CHCs and their patients and to encourage them to take action on key health care legislation and policies.

Federal Policy Priorities

The Dakota’s community health centers (CHCs) provided primary care, behavioral health services, and dental care to over 113,000 Dakotans in 2020. They demonstrated that communities could improve health, reduce health inequities, generate taxpayer savings, and effectively address a multitude of costly and significant public health problems, including epidemics of flu and coronavirus, HIV/AIDS, substance use disorders, maternal mortality, veterans’ access to care, and natural disasters. 

To continue their important work and mission, CHCs need increased pharmacy access for underserved patients, support for health centers’ telehealth services, investment in workforce, and strong and stable funding. Health centers want to continue to work in partnership with Congress to address the following issues. 

Increasing Pharmacy Access for Underserved Patients

Providing access to a full range of affordable, comprehensive services, including pharmacy services, is a key component of the community health center model. The savings from the 340B program must be reinvested into health center activities and are integral to health centers’ ability to sustain ongoing operations. In fact, many health centers report that due to their slim operating margins, without the savings from the 340B program, they would be severely limited in their ability to support many of their core services and activities for their patients. 

  • Make it explicitly clear that 340B covered entities are entitled to purchase all drug manufacturers’ covered outpatient drugs at 340B pricing for eligible patients through each covered entity’s contract pharmacies. 
  • Cosponsor the PROTECT 340B Act (HR 4390), from Reps. David McKinley (R-WV) and Abigail Spanberger (D-VA) to prohibit pharmaceutical benefit managers (PBMs) and insurers from engaging in discriminatory contracting practices or “pick-pocketing” 340B savings from health centers. 

Expand CHC Telehealth Opportunities

All community health centers in the Dakotas are utilizing telehealth to meet their patients’ needs. Telehealth services help address pandemic, geographic, economic, transportation, and linguistic barriers to health care access. Because CHCs are required to offer comprehensive services in areas of high need, including sparsely populated rural areas, health centers are pioneering the use of telehealth to expand access to quality health care services.  

  • Support legislative and regulatory efforts to ensure an extension of the public health emergency (PHE) telehealth flexibilities, ideally through a permanent policy change or at least two years to provide certainty for health centers. 

  • Support for the CONNECT for Health Act (H.R. 2903/S. 1512) and Protecting Access to Post-COVID-19 Telehealth Act (H.R. 366). These bills modernize Medicare policy by recognizing health centers as “distant sites” and removing “originating site” restrictions, allowing telehealth coverage wherever the patient or provider is located. These bills also allow telehealth services to be reimbursed equally to an in-person visit. 

Workforce

Community health centers depend upon a network of over 255,000 clinicians, providers, and staff to deliver on the promise of affordable and accessible health care. Long-term investments in the nation’s primary care workforce are needed to achieve the cost-savings the country needs and to ensure health centers can keep pace with the growing and changing health needs in their communities. Severe workforce shortages and growing salary gaps make it difficult for health centers to recruit and retain an integrated, multi-disciplinary workforce to provide high-quality care. The National Health Service Corps (NHSC) and other federal workforce programs are critical to our ability to recruit providers to communities that need them. We appreciate the funding provided in the American Rescue Plan Act to address workforce shortages caused by the pandemic. Continued federal investment is essential to broadening the workforce pipelines health centers depend on to provide care to patients.  

  • Support $2 billion for the NHSC and $500 million for the Nurse Corps Loan Repayment Program. 
  • Support robust FY22 and FY23 appropriations funding for all primary care workforce programs, including the Title VII Health Professions and Title VIII Nursing Workforce Development programs. 

Support Community Health Centers

We appreciate American Rescue Plan Act funding allocated to health centers to respond to COVID-19 and additional funding for the primary care workforce and vaccine distribution. The COVID-19 pandemic has highlighted the inequities of the health care system for our rural, minority, veteran, senior, and homeless communities. Now more than ever, health centers have been essential stakeholders in the public health system – providing much-needed primary and behavioral health services during the throes of an international pandemic. In 2022, we are looking to Congress to maintain the base funding for CHCs and invest in future growth for the program. 

  • Support at least $2 billion in Health Center Capital Funding for the alternation, renovation, remodeling, expansion, construction, and other capital improvement costs so health centers can continue to meet the health needs of their growing patient populations and the communities they serve.

Protecting Volunteer Health Professionals’ Ability to Serve at Community Health Centers

Volunteer health professionals (VHPs) provide invaluable workforce support to community health centers and their patients. The Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA) currently provides medical malpractice coverage for these volunteers. However, this protection expires on October 1, 2022. Severe primary care workforce shortages both before and during the COVID-19 pandemic highlight the critical urgency for unpaid medical professional volunteers to receive continued FTCA medical malpractice protection.  

  • Permanently extend the Federal Torts Claim Act (FTCA) coverage for community health center VHPs. The extension is currently included in the bipartisan Senate HELP discussion draft of the Prepare for and Respond to Existing Viruses, Emerging New Threats (PREVENT) Pandemics Act.  

North Dakota Advocacy

Supporting the work and mission of community health centers and protecting access to health care for all North Dakotans are principles at the center of CHAD’s advocacy efforts. Our team works closely with member health centers and health care partners across North Dakota to monitor legislation, develop policy priorities, and engage lawmakers and other state and local officials. CHAD is committed to ensuring that CHCs and their patients are represented throughout the policymaking process.

North Dakota Policy Priorities

North Dakota’s legislature meets every two years in Bismarck. During the 2021 legislative session, CHAD is working to promote policy priorities for community health centers and their patients. Those priorities include support for the continuation of Medicaid Expansion, increasing medical workforce capacity, and expanding dental benefits and primary care management reform.

South Dakota Advocacy

Supporting the work and mission of community health centers and protecting access to health care for all South Dakotans are principles at the center of CHAD’s advocacy efforts. Our team works closely with member health centers and health care partners across South Dakota to monitor legislation, develop policy priorities, and engage lawmakers and other state and local officials. CHAD is committed to ensuring that CHCs and their patients are represented throughout the policymaking process.

South Dakota Policy Priorities

South Dakota’s legislature meets annually in Pierre. The 2021 legislative session will begin on January 12, 2021. During the session, CHAD will monitor health care-related legislation while supporting and promoting three key policy priorities:

Medicaid Expansion in South Dakota

Workforce – Student Loan Repayment

  • Increase funding for the Recruitment Assistance Program by directing the Department of Health to apply for up to $1 million
  • federal matching dollars when they become available in 2022 and giving them the authority to use state funds to provide the
    local match. This could double the reach and impact of the program.
  • Allow automatic qualification for the program for CHCs and increase the size of communities eligible for recruitment support;
  • Reconsider the level of community matching funds required. For many communities they are currently out of reach.
  • Increase the slots for Advanced Practice Providers; and,
  • Consider adding certain behavioral health positions given the shortages the state faces in those areas.

Workforce – Optimal Team Practice Legislation giving Physician’s Assistants more flexibility to practice in our state.